I got an e-mail the other day saying my seedlings will be on their way soon so I made a visit to the local garden centre to spend a load of money getting ready for the delivery and also to allow me to move my own stuff outside. On the plus side, I avoided having to go to the gym due to lugging a load of compost into the back of the car and then into the garden.

Back breaking mud

Though this may not be enough, as I will have quite a few pots to fill for the veggies, and  a couple of whisky barrel ends that I got from someone who works in a distillery for growing the salad in.

It's gonna take a lot of compost to fill these things

Unfortunately I don’t have a lot of room for a greenhouse and thought it may be best to go budget until I find out how much I enjoy this lark, so I bought a couple of plastic grow-houses to keep things nice and toasty until it warms up a bit. In order to keep the garden looking as nice a possible I’ve only put one up for the moment.

The flat pack

Spot the bricks in the top of the picture to keep it from blowing over until it is a bit fuller.

The finished article

Not as tasteful as some of the nice wooden ones you can get but it seems to warmer on the inside when I open it up. So my plants are transferred outdoors and I am now waiting for the postman to come bearing gifts.