I have made what should be the final additions to the UTC garden. We have a couple of hanging basket hooks attached to the back of the house that we have never really used, and as I have probably taken up enough ground space, they are prime candidates for a bit of vertical farming (as Brass Eye would call it).

In order to use some of the packing straw that came with my veg I have filled one with a couple of strawberry plants, a trailing type called Roman that is meant to be suitable for baskets and produce an apple blossom pink flower and deep red fruit.

Just the right height to hit my head on!

The other basket is for yet more toms, in this case Tumbling Tom Reds, for which there is an informative post on this growing from seed blog. Again a variety best suited to baskets. Hopefully they will provide lots of fruit, in which case if the peppers go well it will be panzanella ahoy!

Not yet tumbling toms

So this time that really is it, all the plants I am going to grow this year, as any more and we won’t be able to fit in the garden.